A Day in the Life of a Coffee Addict

>Two Geeks Have One Great Day!

Posted on: 04/19/2009

>I have been a huge Buffy The Vampire Slayer fan since the day the pilot aired on television back in 1997. My love for Buffy lead to my love for Angel and all the characters in between so when Mike sent me a link to the FX Show in Orlando where James Marsters (Spike from Buffy & Angel) would be appearing along with the gals that played Darla, Druscilla and Glory (Julie Benz, Juliet Landau and Claire Kramer) I knew we had to be there! So yesterday morning we dressed in our geek wear celebrating the fact that some of the folks from Star Trek would be at the show and we headed to the Orange County Convention Center.



I hadn’t been to a comic/Sci-Fi show in a really long time so I was excited and Mike and I had never been one together so that was another super exciting thing. We immediately headed over to find out the autograph situation. The one disappointing thing is how the convention milks you for every penny. To get James Marsters autograph it would cost $40 and that would not include getting my picture taken with him in order to do that I would have to slap down another $65!! But Mike my AWESOME husband grabbed a ticket for the a
utograph and said I could get it and to enjoy! Waiting for our turn I was super nervous because the convention staff was spewing all these rules at us and I just kept thinking would the money we spent be worth it – trust me when I say it was! We got up to Mr. Marsters and he couldn’t possibly have been nicer. He chatted with us, commented on Mikey’s shirt, talked about the upcoming Star Trek movie, I asked about any possible Buffy/Angel movies and I broke the news to him that Buffy star Sarah Michelle Gellar was expecting her first baby! He SERIOUSLY couldn’t have been nicer. It is always a fabulous thing when someone you watch on TV and admire turns out to be a really great guy in real life.

After the autograph session we grabbed a seat for the ladies of the Whedon-verse panel. Juliet Landau who played Druscilla on Buffy and Angel was one of the greatest characters on TV ever in my opinion I so enjoyed her and hearing her speak on the panel was incredible she seems super intelligent, Julie Benz was smart and funny and Claire Kramer made me insanely jealous because she was in fantastic shape but recently had a baby. There were two gals from Joss Whedon’s Firefly which I never watched but I enjoyed hearing them all speak about their characters, their shows and working with Whedon. These girls were bright and funny and just enjoyable to watch.

Mike’s friend Peter joined us and we walked around all the booths and got great deals on Buffy figures to round out my collection which I’m planning to pull out and get set up so we can see what we have and what we need/want. Mike also picked up a Transformer he wanted and we just saw a lot of cool stuff. Then it was time for James Marsters’s panel-WOW he was so dynamic. Since he was on the panel alone he just perched on the edge of the table and walked around the stage and told stories, answered a ton of questions and was just open and honest about everything. At one point Mike drew some interesting attention our way (a story much better told in person) but it was a highlight and lead to James telling a story directly to Mike. How cool right?! It was a great day – really fabulous – a nice bonding activity for me and Mike and we talked about it over our delicious Thai dinner and well into the night until we both fell asleep while chatting! What a great day and how lucky I am to share such great things with Mike!

Today we are going to get some stuff done around the apartment, grocery shopping, going to the gym and some relaxing. After yesterday I think I feel a Buffy marathon coming on!!

More Soon…

1 Response to ">Two Geeks Have One Great Day!"

>i just think it’s so cool that you got to do this with Mikey for the first time and not just that ….but to meet quite a few AWESOME characters…Mark doesn’t even know about the Firefly cast…he would be even more jealous!!! i am so happy for you…what an AMAZING experience for both of you!!!! AWESOME..couldn’t ask for it to happen to 2 better people!!! xoxox

Leave a comment


  • None
  • Katrina Kennedy: I am so glad you are enjoying CY365! People like you make it a fabulous place to be. Thank you for posting about it!
  • Toni: >These are two of my favorite layouts that i did in LOAD...
  • Toni: >Load was so much fun!!! and who knew i can do a layout in hours!! LOL

Categories